Book Launch: The Cabinet of Traces

On Sunday 2nd of September at 1pm the book launch of The Cabinet of Traces takes place in The Living Room. The book presentation itself starts at 1pm with an explanation and a drink and afterwards contributions by current artists in residence Maurice Doherty, Meryem Erkus, Gary Farrelly, Tea Palmelund and Merle Vorwald.

The Cabinet of Traces is a collection of 73 traces, left behind by artists in residency in AIR Antwerpen between 2012 and 2018. The traces in this publication form a collection existing out of objects, drawings, art works, letters and clothes. Every trace has a story. The Cabinet of Traces unlocks these stories and feed new ones. Memories are constructions and the traces in this publications form the building stones out of which these memories are made. The Cabinet of Traces grows on with the reactions on this publication by current and future artists in residence. Next to the photographic reproductions of this collection the book includes an interview with Clementine Deliss and texts by Alan Quireyns and Koen Sels.

Participating artists in the publication: Bisan Abu-Eisheh, Sidney Aelbrecht, Edgardo Aragón, Caner Aslan, Bianca Baldi, Pedro Barateiro, Line Boogaerts, Leda Bourgogne, Elen Braga, Post Brothers, Ella de Burca, Reg Carremans, Tom Castinel, Mike Cooper, Baptiste Croze, Maurice Doherty, Stijn Van Dorpe, Romana Drdová, Laurent Dupont-Garitte, Arnaud Eubelen, Simon Feydieu, Alberto García del Castillo, Geger, Shaun Gladwell, Rumiko Hagiwara, Harry Heirmans, Lodewijk Heylen, Nicholas Hoffman, Antoine Van Impe, Stine Marie Jacobsen, Philip Janssens, Ksenija Jovišević, Tomáš Kajánek, Nina Könnemann, Alexis Lagimodière-Grisé, Lennart Lahuis, Claire Liengme, Eva L’Hoest, Ilaria Lupo, Luis Lázaro Matos, Alice De Mont, Pages, Chantal Peñalosa, Bhagwati Prasad, Stefanie Pretnar, Laure Prouvost, André Romão, Darren Roshier, Fabian Rouwette, Joris De Rycke, Francesc Ruiz, Arin Rungjang, Savage, Hemant Sareen, Ani Schulze, Augustas Serapinas, Ryan Siegan-Smith, Mounira Al Solh, Ania Soliman, Rasmus Søndergaard Johanssen, Mathilde Du Sordet, Malthe Stigaard, Serra Tansel, Yan Tomaszewski, Dennis Tyfus, Luisa Ungar, Nicolas Valckenaere, Mirte Vanduppen, Naneci Yurdagül, Bruno Zhu


APE #113
Published by Art Paper Editions, Gent & AIR Antwerpen
11 × 18 cm, 220 p, ills colour,
paperback, dust jacket
ISBN 9789490800888
design: 6’56”
€ 18
edition of 500

Elen Braga for from White Rabbit on Vimeo.